THETRAFFICTICKETMAN.COM ANNOUNCES STATEWIDE COVERAGE
Attorney Scott Markowitz is active in the Municipal Justice
Bar Association of Texas (MJBAT). He has served on the board
of directors and other positions. He will end his 3 year term
as President in August, 2004. Its membership of nearly 300
includes traffic ticket defense lawyers, judges and prosecutors
across the State of Texas. “If you receive a ticket
in Texas,” says Mr. Markowitz, “I can find you
a ticket lawyer in the area. Some places in Texas are so remote
that it can be a challenge sometimes, but I will always be
willing to try! MJBAT lawyers are dedicated to the profession
of traffic ticket and misdemeanor defense and you can count
on the very best representation available in the area.”
MJBAT is a non-profit association dedicated to addressing
the needs of lawyers who practice in the municipal courts
and the justices of the peace courts across the State of Texas.
Many members, including Mr. Markowitz, are very active in
legislative years in Austin, making sure that the rights of
Texas drivers are protected.
Your License plate frame is probably illegal!
A new state law effective September 1, 2003, makes illegal
any frame that "alters or obscures" your license
plate. You may be ticketed and the fine could be as high as
$200 plus court costs which average $90 or so. Whether you
have a vanity frame or just the one the car dealership gave
you, the attorney's advice is to remove them and throw them
away! Traffic officers use this new law to stop you even when
you have done nothing else wrong!
Surcharges and the new Texas POINT SYSTEM
As if the fines and insurance increases were not enough! Newly
enacted section 708 of the Texas transportaion code allows
the state to punish you again after you pay the fine on certain
traffic ticket convictions after September 1, 2003. Additional
surcharges may also be assessed if you get too many points
on your record.
Highlights of this new money-making scheme include:
2 points assessed for any conviction of a moving traffic
violation 3 Points assessed for any conviction of a moving
traffic violation resulting in an accident. Collect 6 or more
points in any 36 month period and you will be billed at least
$100 per year to renew your license Convicted of a DWI? Pay
$1000 to $2000 each year for 3 years. Driving without a valid
license? Pay $100 each year for 3 years. Driving without auto
insurance? Pay $250 each year for 3 years.
Failure to pay these surcharges will cause suspension and/or
denial of renewal of your license to drive!
RACING Means You Go To Jail!
Before September 1, 2003, racing defendants faced a fine
only. Not any more! A first offense is a Class B Misdemeanor
punishable by fine up to $2000, jail up to 180 days, or both.
Aggravated cases involving prior convictions, alcohol or bodily
injury may result in charges as high as 2nd degree felony
punishable by fine up to $10,000 and jail of 2 years minimum
up to 20 years in prison.
Passing Emergency Vehicles
As of September 1, 2003, in general, you must vacate the lane
nearest the stationary emergency vehicle with emergency lights
and equipment activated or slow down to 20 mph below the posted
limit if you choose to stay in the lane. More detail Tickets
may now be issued with fines and costs up to $290.00.
Check back here for updates soon!